Prof. Boateng Onwona-Agyeman Inaugurates 3rd CBAS Biennial Science and Development Conference Planning Committee

Prof. Boateng Onwona-Agyeman, Provost, College of Basic and Applied Sciences (CBAS), has inaugurated a fifteen-member Committee to plan the 3rd CBAS Biennial Science and Development Conference scheduled to take place later in the year.

The Committee, which is chaired by Prof. Elvis Tiburu and co-chaired by Prof. Matilda Steiner-Asiedu is expected to plan a hybrid event that will enhance the visibility of the College and attract external audience to the Conference.

Prof. Onwona-Agyeman, in his remarks noted that the Conference is aimed at providing an opportunity for faculty to showcase their research findings to help foster academia and industry interaction to forge inter, multi and trans-disciplinary research. He outlined the terms of reference (TORs) of the Committee which include determining an appropriate date, time, duration, mode and venue for the Conference; determining the suitability of the proposed theme, “Science for Development: Advancing Industrial Partnerships through Research” and ensuring the event is widely publicised.

Prof. Onwona-Agyeman urged the Committee to come up with a plan that will meet the expectation of providing a platform to engage stakeholders for national development and attract audience made up of government officials, industry, faculty and students. He pledged the College’s support to the Committee and its activities to ensure the success of their task.

Prof. Boateng Onwona-Agyeman, Provost, College of Basic and Applied Sciences (CBAS)

Prof. Elvis Tiburu, in his acceptance remarks was filled with gratitude for the opportunity to chair the Committee. He expressed enormous appreciation to the Provost for the confidence reposed in the Committee. He intimated the Committee’s resolve to work assiduously to ensure that a successful conference is organised to augment the visibility to the College and the University at large. Prof. Tiburu elicited the support of members of the Committee to ensure that the TORs of the Committee are realized as intended.

Members of the Committee are Dr. Jerry Joe Harrison, School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences; Dr. Jaqueline Naalamle Amissah, School of Agriculture; Dr. Daniel K. Dziedzienyo, Biotechnology Centre; Dr. Robert Manteaw, Centre for Climate Change & Sustainability Studies; Prof. C. P. K. Dagadu, School of Nuclear and Allied Sciences; Dr. Richard Dery Suu-Ire, School of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Nii Longdon Sowah, School of Engineering Sciences; Prof. Langbong Bimi, School of Biological Sciences; Dr. Jesse Sey Ayivor, Institute for Environment & Sanitation Studies; Dr. John Saviour Eleblu, West Africa Centre for Crop Improvement  (WACCI); Mr. Ezekiel Acquaah, Research Development Officer, Office of Research, Innovation and Development and Mr. Mawusi K. Glozah, Secretary, College of Basic & Applied Sciences.

In attendance were Prof. Sandow Mark Yidana, Dean, School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; Prof. Augustine Ocloo, Dean, School of Biological Sciences; Prof. K. Appeaning Addo. Director, Institute for Environment and Sanitation Studies; Mr. Worlanyo Newton Torvinyo, Acting College Secretary, CBAS.